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All Incident Report requests should be submitted on the attached EMS / Fire Incident Report
Request form. (The requestor must indicate if the purpose for the request is commercial in nature,
in the space provided.) There is a $2.00 fee per request for all mailed documents. All requests
without the required information, documentation and full payment, will be returned to the requestor.
If you do not have the necessary incident information, you may contact the Authority’s
Administration Office at (928) 772-7711. The following are necessary requirements when
requesting either Emergency Medical Service (EMS) or Fire Reports from the Central Arizona Fire
and Medical Authority.

EMS Incident Reports are provided free of charge to the patient, and with a valid HIPAA
authorization signed by the patient, any other individual involved in the incident. Others may
purchase the EMS records at a cost of $20.00 per report with a valid HIPAA authorization signed
by the patient.

Emergency Medical Service (EMS) Incident Report request requirements:

¢ EMS reports are considered confidential medical records, and are protected by privacy laws.

¢ A patient has a right to a copy of his or her EMS report. The request must be in writing and
signed by the patient.

¢ Most third party requests require either a HIPAA authorization signed by the patient or a court
order. However, there are certain exceptions to these requirements including, but not limited to,
requests from: the patient’s health care decision maker, another healthcare provider currently
treating the patient or a grand jury subpoena.

¢ A report for a deceased individual may be given by the Authority to the personal representative
of the estate upon presentation of the death certificate and court order showing the appointment
of the personal representative.

¢ A report may be released to a healthcare decision maker (or an individual who is authorized to
make health care treatment decisions for the patient, including the parent of a minor or an agent
pursuant to a healthcare power of attorney).

¢ Subpoenas from the Authority Attorney’s Office or the Office of the Medical Investigators
(OMI) do not require a HIPAA authorization signed by the patient.

¢ The EMS / Fire Incident Report Request must be submitted in person to the Central Arizona
Fire and Medical Authority Administrative Office, 8603 E. Eastridge Dr., Prescott Valley,
Arizona 86314. (unless the request is made by another health care provider, government agency,
private accreditation agency, business associate or by court order or subpoena).

¢ The individual making a report request must provide photo identification.

¢ The guardian of a minor making a report request must provide proof of legal guardianship.

Fire Incident / Investigation Reports are considered to be a matter of public record; however,
there may be some portions of that report that are private and not subject to disclosure. In addition,
the casualty report associated with the fire incident / investigation report is treated as a confidential
EMS incident report, and is protected by privacy laws. Fire incident / investigation reports are free
to occupant and property owner; others may purchase them for $20.00 per report. To obtain any
available pictures associated with the fire incident / investigation in a compact disc format, an
additional $10.00 will be charged. Any required additional film development fees will be assessed
at the actual cost for picture reproduction.
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PLEASE COMPLETE THIS FORM IN FULL.

If the requestor is a court-appointed personal representative of a deceased patient, the requestor
must include a copy of the death certificate and court order showing the appointment as a personal
representative.

If the requestor is a legal guardian of a minor, the requestor must provide proof of legal
guardianship (and photo identification.)

The information requested below must be completed in full. Requests without the required
information will be returned to sender. If you do not have the necessary incident information, you
may contact the Administration Office at (928) 772-7711.

REQUESTOR NAME:
RELATIONSHIP TO PATIENT:

If parent of patient, and patient is a minor, is patient an emancipated minor? yes/no

STREET:

CITY: STATE: ZIP:
TELEPHONE: FAX:
Date of Incident: Approximate Time of Incident:

Address of Incident:

(If you do not know the address, include the cross streets.)

Type of Incident:

If a HIPAA authorization signed by the patient is required, please indicate the purpose of the
request (i.e., discovery request):

1 Documents to be viewed only, no copies required.
] Documents to be mailed. *An additional charge of $2.00 will apply to all mail requests
1 Documents will be picked up.

1 The requested documents will not be used for commercial purposes.
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COMPLETE THIS SECTION “ONLY IF” THE REQUEST IS FOR A COMMERCIAL PURPOSE

AR.S. §39-121.03D Commercial purpose includes any use of a public record for the purpose of sale or resale or for the purpose of producing a
document containing all or part of the copy, printout or photograph for sale or the obtaining of names and addresses from public records to another
for the purpose of solicitation or for any purpose where the purchaser can reasonably anticipate the receipt of monetary gain from direct or indirect
use of the record. When a person requests copies of District records for commercial purposes, a statement setting forth the commercial purpose
for which the copies will be used must be provided.

If the request is for commercial purposes, please indicate how these records will be used:

Requestor Signature Date

Please return this form, along with a valid HIPAA authorization signed by the patient, if applicable,
full payment and any other documentation required in person to:

Central Arizona Fire and Medical Authority
Custodian of Records

8603 E. Eastridge Dr.

Prescott Valley, AZ 86314

Checks must be made payable to: Central Arizona Fire and Medical Authority

Please Note: Public records are in various locations within the Authority. The Authority requests that a
reasonable amount of time be expected for responding to any requests to copy or inspect Authority records.
The Authority may require additional time to process more difficult requests and if so, an estimated
timeframe will be provided to the requester.

FIRE AUTHORITY USE ONLY
Employee / Division

Incident Number Date Request Received Date Processed Processed By Notified
Request Approved []  Request Denied Disposition EMS Records:
Authorized By: Date: Viewed

Mailed

Faxed
Copies $ Postage $ Other $ Total Amount Received $ Picked Up
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