MINUTES

Central Arizona Fire and Medical Authority PSPRS Local Board Meeting Thursday, October 26, 2023, 11:00 am - 12:00 pm Central Arizona Fire and Medical Authority, Administration, 8603 E. Eastridge Drive, Prescott Valley

In-Person Attendance

Matt Zurcher; Patty Chute; Susanne Dixson

Remote Attendance

Andrew Apodaca, Esq.; Damian Lys; Ron Litchfield

Not In Attendance

Andie Rorick; Mickey Robison

1. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL OF BOARD MEMBERS

Chair Zurcher called the meeting to order at 11:10 a.m.

2. APPROVAL OF REGULAR MINUTES FROM JANUARY 11, 2023

Motion to approve the minutes from January 11, 2023.

Move: Damian Lys Second: Ron Litchfield Status: Passed

Yes: Matt Zurcher, Damian Lys, Ron Litchfield

3. CALL TO THE PUBLIC

There were no public comments.

- 4. NEW BUSINESS
 - A. Approve Patty Chute as New Local Board Secretary

Motion to approve Patty Chute as the Secretary.

Move: Damian Lys Second: Ron Litchfield Status: Passed

Yes: Matt Zurcher, Damian Lys, Ron Litchfield

B. Discussion and Direction to Staff Regarding PSPRS Local Board Responsibilities and Notifications to the Board

Secretary Chute explained recent changes in statute, which resulted in a reduction of the items the Board is responsible for approving. Specifically, the Board no longer has to approve members entering DROP, or normal retirements; PSPRS is now processing

those items. The Board agreed to continue having those things reported as informational items on the agenda.

C. Review FY 2021-2022 PSPRS Actuarial Valuation Report

Chief Rose provided a summary explanation of the Actuarial Valuation Report. He reported the following changes to employee and employer contributions, from FY 2021 to FY 2022:

Tier 1: the employer contribution rate increased from 20.02% to 24.02%

Tier 2: the employee contribution rate decreased from 14.65% to 10.65%, and the employer contribution rate increased from 23.02% to 27.02%

Tier 3: the employee contribution rate decreased from 12.94% to 12.56%, and the employer contribution rate increased from 20.02% to 23.26%

DROP: there are currently 17 members; no change from FY 2021

D. Approval of Entry into PSPRS with No Pre-Existing Conditions: Fire Marshal: Darrell Tirpak, Firefighters: Damian Proano, Nicholas Vargas, Noah Carpenter, John Craik, Cammi Lee Hoobler, Aaron Amaya, Luke Swanson, Mason Siebe, Jonathan Steinert, Stephanie Roy

Motion to approve.

Move: Ron Litchfield Second: Damian Lys Status: Passed

Yes: Matt Zurcher, Damian Lys, Ron Litchfield

E. Approval of PSPRS Member Retired from a Different Employer: Jim Madden

Secretary Chute advised the Board that Jim Madden was hired on April 19, 2021 as a Fire Inspector I, and explained that the Board should have made this determination at the time of hire. She further explained that his position is not PSPRS eligible, therefore the alternate contribution is not payable.

Attorney Apodaca asked if he retired from us or somewhere else; Secretary Chute answered that he retired from a different agency. It was discussed and determined that he is not eligible for the alternate contribution.

Date of Rehire: April 19, 2021

Position: Fire Inspector I

PS Eligible Position: NO

Motion to deny the alternate PSPRS contribution rate for Jim Madden.

Move: Damian Lys Second: Ron Litchfield Status: Passed

Yes: Matt Zurcher, Damian Lys, Ron Litchfield

5. ADJOURNMENT

Motion to adjourn at 11:25 a.m.

Move: Matt Zurcher Second: Damian Lys Status: Passed

Yes: Matt Zurcher, Damian Lys, Ron Litchfield